Take Time to Listen

Take Time to Really Listen

Today’s Scripture

“And this is love: that we walk in obedience to his commands. As you have heard from the beginning, his command is that you walk in love.” (2 John1:6)

Today’s Word from Joel and Victoria

Sometimes friends give a quick piece of advice or a pat on the back when another person shares a problem or struggle. Sometimes they would even get a verse or two of Scripture, but that’s not always what Jesus would do. Jesus demands nothing less from you than to walk in love and be compassionate to others around you. Walking in love and truth demands that you respond to what you have heard. Many times the best thing to do is simply let the other person know that you hear them and that you are concerned for them. Jesus was truly concerned for the people around Him, and showed it by the attentive and caring way He listened to the people who came to Him. That same caring should be a goal for His followers as well.

A Prayer for Today

God, give me a compassionate spirit and willing heart. May I take the time to truly listen to the needs of others. In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

I think this is a great message and one I really need to remember daily. It is so easy to go through life, not really listening or connecting, especially with the kids, who some days seem to continuously “badgering” me. But I have to remember to take time to really listen to what they are trying to tell me. They may be throwing a tantrum but it may be because they want some one on one  attention, or they are hungry, or tired and just don’t have the words to explain to me yet. Whilst this lesson is most important with my kids, it also applies to everyone in my life. I have to remember to sometimes stop thinking about my to do list, stop doing the dishes, cooking the dinner, etc and really be present when I am talking to someone and hear all the conversation, not just the words they are speaking.

Published in: on +00002007-06-18T04:10:56+00:00302007bUTCMon, 18 Jun 2007 04:10:56 +0000 27, 2007 at 6.50 p06  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://toddlerheaven.wordpress.com/2007/06/18/take-time-to-listen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love Joel Osteen, he is a very encouraging Speaker.


Leave a Reply

