Breakfast struggles

I am struggling with breakfast time with my kids. They don’t like cereal, toast, they just lick of the topping and they don’t eat scrambled eggs. Most of the time they end up eating a apple or applesauce, maybe a banana and whilst the fruit is good before you know it they are after snacks. So I am on a mission to find healthy and filling breakfasts for my kids

I most recently tried a healthy homemade rice pudding and despite my effort, nope, they didn’t like it. But I loved it and am posting the recipe for any other rice pudding lovers out there…………..

2 cups of cook rice (preferably brown which I used)

2 cups of milk

1/2 cup nonfat dry milk

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon butter, melted

2 eggs, well beaten

1/2 lemon rind, grated

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup raisins

wheat germ (which I used)

Mix all ingredients together, except wheat germ. Grease a 1 quart casserole dish and sprinkle bottom with the wheat germ. Pour in pudding mixture and sprinkle more crumbs on top. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

source Vicki Lansky

I will be working on this all next week. I WILL win the breakfast battle………………..

Published in: on +00002007-08-04T10:23:36+00:00312007bUTCSat, 04 Aug 2007 10:23:36 +0000 27, 2007 at 6.50 p08  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://toddlerheaven.wordpress.com/2007/08/04/breakfast-struggles/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I feel your pain! My kids aren’t big on breakfast either. Let me know if you have any successes! Minnie loves cottage cheese and blueberries. Mickey loves malt-o-meal (chocolate flavor) and I make a helathy version of the breakfast sandwhich (like McDonald’s Egg McMuffin)It is whole wheat English muffin ligtly toasted with some mayo. Scrambled egg (but cooked in one piece rather than broken up) Morning Star brand vegitarian breakfast sausage and a slice of cheese. Micky LOVES it! Little does he know it is Veg! 😉 Good Luck!

  2. That sounds fantastic! I’ll be trying it. My two love cereal but nothing else. I am so very sick of having the same thing every morning so this will be a welcome change I think they will love.

  3. I tried this and it was great!!

  4. […] Miami Mama posted a rice pudding recipe over at her blog, to which I added nutmeg, cinnamon, and omitted the wheat germ. (Susan Branch also […]


Leave a Reply

