Making bread

Today I made bread! What’s the big deal I hear you ask? Well the big deal is, that this is the first EVER I have made bread. I am just so excited and so proud of myself. The best thing…………..its healthy and it came out really well. It took some time on my part as I wasn’t use to it but wow I am never eating store bread again. Here is the recipe I used………..highly recommended, though the big test comes tomorrow……………….will the kids like it?

making bread

yummy bread

Basic Whole Wheat Bread

1 cup of warm water (105 – 115)

2 packages yeast

1 tablespoon honey

2 cups milk

1/4 cup of butter, margarine, or oil

1/3 cup honey

1-1/2 tablespoon salt

5 cups whole wheat flour

3 cups white flour

1/4 cup wheat germ (optional – but I used it)

Dissolve yeast in warm water. Stir in 1 tablespoon honey. Set aside for 10 minutes. In a saucepan, combine milk, butter, honey, and salt. Heat to lukewarm – do not scald. Pour warm milk mixture and dissolved yeast into a large mixing bowl. Add the wholewheat flour, one cup at a time, beating wellafter each addition. Be sure to use all the whole wheat flour. Add the wheat germ, if desired.

Add enough white flour to make a soft, yet manageabe, dough. Turn out on a light floured board and knead until smooth and elastic, approximately 8-10 minutes.

Place dough in a greased bowl. Cover and let it rise in a warm, draft-free place until the dough has doubled in bulk. Punch down, divide in half, and knead each half for about 30 seconds.

Shape into three loaves and place in greased loaf pans. Cover and let rise again until doubled in bulk, about 45 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400 and bake for 40 minutes or until done.

recipe from Vicki Lansky, Feed me, I’m yours.

The great tip I got was, if you need a warm place, where your kids can’t reach, to let your bread rise, heat your oven to 200 for 1 minute. Turn off. Then put in bread for rising…………worked for me!

Published in: on +00002007-08-07T22:57:06+00:00312007bUTCTue, 07 Aug 2007 22:57:06 +0000 27, 2007 at 6.50 p08  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://toddlerheaven.wordpress.com/2007/08/07/making-bread/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Honey, looks yummy! Sorry I haven’t called yet, will try tonight. Am keeping up with your blogs though mate, Charlie and Lola are just gorgeous, love the photos!
    Take care.
    Miss you,
    Kathxxx

  2. […] To start baking my own bread instead of buying it – did it and it was a great success – reminds me, need to make some more today, actually maybe tomorrow […]


Leave a Reply

