Bring Me

I found another great toddler activity at play-activities.com. i can’t wait to do this with my two. I am trying to work on them tiding up after themselves, so this will start to prepare for that.

Activity ~ Bring Me

 

 

Materials:

  • Large Bag

Preparation:

  • Think of items for your child to collect.

Idea(s):

  • This thinking game is great for bonding with your child.
  • Ask them to bring you an object you choose. “Go get a toy train please.”
  • Say “Thank you”.
  • Talk about the objects. Choose any topic to speak about. (Colour, shape, size, function, texture) “Wow! Look at the blue train. It’s so small.”
  • Let them put it in the bag or ask them to give it to you.
  • Take the items out of the bad one at a time “Ok out comes the train first… Next the… “
  • Return it back to where it lives. “Now where does the small blue train stay?” Give prompts if needed – “On the table here? In a box… where?”

Good for: Language, Problem Solving, Description, Gross Motor

Submitted by: Play-activities.com

Additional Comments:

  • Be specific about the object.
  • As they get used to this game or older children. Be more general and use categories. “Bring me a toy from…” “Bring me a peice of fruit…” “…Crayon.”
  • Play with a time limit so the children have to run.
  • With two or more children talk about different attributes of the same object “Long spoon – I use this for cereal in the morning. What do you use it for?” “Long spoon – silver and smooth. Can you see your face on it?” or get a similar object “Teaspoon – I can stir my tea. Can you stir your tea? I can measure my sugar to go in my tea. This is small and this one (point) is big.”

I tink this is a great learning exercise for toddlers. I will let you know how I get on………

Published in: on +00002007-11-23T20:31:21+00:00302007bUTCFri, 23 Nov 2007 20:31:21 +0000 27, 2007 at 6.50 p11  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://toddlerheaven.wordpress.com/2007/11/23/bring-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] me update We did the bring me game that I posted about and it didn’t work out quite as I planned. The kids decided they were […]


Leave a Reply

